About Us

Central Durham Liberal Democrats are a growing political force in Durham.

We are the local branch of the national Liberal Democrat Party and are true to the core Lib Dem values of freedom, fairness and the environment.

Central Durham Lib Dems have a growing number of members 13 county councillors in the area which covers the City of Durham Parliamentary Constituency.

The party is always on the lookout for new members or people who would like to help us in our work. We consistently campaign for fair, high quality and accountable services for local people.

Nationally, the Lib Dems were the only party to oppose the Iraq War, the only party who have consistently been strong on the environment, and the only party consistently opposed to crashing out of the EU.

The Local Party

The Party brings together many local supporters, activists and members. New members are always welcome. You can join here

Members annually elect an Executive Committee – the local Councillors are held to account by the Executive, and it is the Executive who give direction to the party in Durham.

Your Local Liberal Democrat Councillors:

Division: Framwellgate and Newton Hall

Cllr Amanda Hopgood
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 726 amanda.hopgood@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Mamie Simmons
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
0191 386 9006 mamie.simmons@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Mark Wilkes
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 788 mark.wilkes@durham.gov.uk

Division: Neville’s Cross

Cllr Liz Brown
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 743 liz.brown@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Elizabeth Scott
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 725 elizabeth.scott@durham.gov.uk

Division: Elvet and Gilesgate

Cllr David Freeman
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 709 david.freeman@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Richard Ormerod
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 758 richard.ormerod@durham.gov.uk

Division: Belmont

Cllr Eric Mavin
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 749 eric.mavin@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Lesley Mavin
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 264 352 lesley.mavin@durham.gov.uk

Division: Esh and Witton Gilbert

Cllr Bev Coult
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 675 bev.coult@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Arnie Simpson
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 674 arnold.simpson@durham.gov.uk

Division: Durham South

Cllr David Stoker
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
07971 963 877 david.stoker@durham.gov.uk

Non-Durham City councillors on Durham County Council

Division: Consett North

Cllr Owen Temple
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
07881 268 963 owen.temple@durham.gov.uk

Division:  Shildon & Dene Valley

Cllr Gary Huntington

c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 756 garry.huntington@durham.gov.uk

Division: North Lodge

Cllr Craig Martin
c/o Member Support Team, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL
03000 268 745 craig.martin@durham.gov.uk

National Party
8-10 Great George Street, London, SW1P 3AE
020 7222 7999 info@libdems.org.uk

Liberal Youth
8-10 Great George Street, London, SW1P 3AE
020 7277 1387 ldysadmin@libdems.org.uk